« Lamb tagine with garlic, honey and raisins | Main | Slow cooker recipe for my mom's circa-1960 chicken and rice casserole {gluten-free} »

The Pantry Quiz #6

Candy corn! Photo from Wikipedia.

Multiple choice

October 30 is National Candy Corn Day, and the 31st is, well, you know. Trick or treat! Which of the following pantry items is not an ingredient in candy corn?

1. Egg whites
2. Salt
3. Vegetable oil
4. Sugar


Please leave your answer in the comments, and let us know whether you have the ingredient in your pantry.

[Last week's answer: According to About.com, "An emulsion is a mixture of two liquids that would ordinarily not mix together, like oil and vinegar. There are two kinds of emulsions, temporary and permanent. An example of a temporary emulsion is a simple vinaigrette. You combine the oil and vinegar in a jar, mix them up and they come together for a short time. Mayonnaise is an example of a permanent emulsion, consisting of egg yolks and oil. Egg yolks and oil would not naturally mix together, but by slowly whisking the oil into the egg yolks, the two liquids form a stable emulsion that won't separate."]

You can find most answers to The Pantry Quiz by using the search box at right, at the top of the page, to hunt for clues. Come back next Saturday for the answer to today's quiz question.

Disclosure: The Perfect Pantry earns a few pennies on purchases made through the Amazon.com links in this post. Thank you for supporting this site when you start your shopping here.


I believe it's vegetable oil, and as much as I tried and tried over the years to love candy corn, I just cannot. Happy Halloween!

I am torn between salt and oil, and I'm honestly not sure!

Impulse says egg whites are not in candy corn. But I don't have any here to check!

I'd guess egg whites as a lot of candy does have vegetable oil. The only candy I have now to check are some MaryJanes and they have veg oil, sugar (molasses) and salt, but no egg white.

Definitely egg whites :)

#1, and I have four different flavors of it currently!

I checked at the supermarket, and it is NOT not egg whites. Sugar and coal tar, mostly.

I know this one because my friend Alisa mentioned the other day that candy corn contains egg whites and, therefore, are not vegan. It's oil.


Coal tar?

Uh, I'd say oil.

Vegetable oil is not an ingredient in candy corn for sure..

My guess is that egg whites are not an ingredient. Wikipedia states that candy corn is - "Candy corn is made primarily from sugar, corn syrup, wax, artificial coloring and binders" The correct ratio of salt, vegetable oil and sugar plus coloring agents could result in the candy corn.


Sugar. They're made with Corn Syrup, no?

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.