« Zucchini pie recipe {vegetarian} | Main | Kosher salt (Recipe: Moroccan eggplant salad) {vegan, gluten-free} »

The Pantry Quiz #45


Multiple choice

More people than ever are eating gluten-free, by choice or necessity, so we're all learning more about gluten and keeping gluten-free ingredients in our pantries. Which of the following thickeners are gluten-free?

1. Arrowroot
2. Cornstarch
3. Potato starch
4. Tapioca


Please leave your answer in the comments, and let us know whether you have these ingredients in your pantry.

[Last week's answer: Pine nuts, cashews, walnuts and almonds all grow on trees. Now, if only money did!]

You can find most answers to The Pantry Quiz by using the search box at right, at the top of the page, to hunt for clues. Come back next Saturday for the answer to today's quiz question.

Disclosure: The Perfect Pantry earns a few pennies on purchases made through the Amazon.com links in this post. Thank you for supporting this site when you start your shopping here.


All of the above mentioned items. Only one I don't have is potato flour


All are! I have all except for arrow root. thanks!

All are gluten free. My sister and I, it turns out, are both gluten sensitive. Both households are now gluten free and have been for about 1 year. We both feel better. I have all four starches and use them frequently.

I think they all are. Sadly, only arrowroot is low-glycemic.

I was thinking all of the above too! I have been using cornstarch and arrowroot for years as a thickener, and hubby just loves tapioca desserts...Just missing the potato starch in my pantry!

all of them

All of them.


All. I use cornstarch and tapioca the most. :-)


Consulting GFDoctor's list, I think they are all GF.
Great question!

All these GF ingredients and more are in my pantry (basement outpost).

I think they're all GF. I have a small jar of arrowroot, but don't yet know how to use it. Always have corn starch. Not on the list, but I love almond flour and always keep some handy.

they are all Gluten free and I have them all.

All are gluten free

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.